Search form

Rates from $254/ night

Let's Talk story

Turtle Bay's blog

Annual Surfer Poll Awards Bring the Pros to Turtle Bay

Posted on Wed, 2014/12/03 - 12:57pm by Anonymous

The world’s best surfers are coming to Turtle Bay for the annual Surfer Poll Awards on December 6. For the past few years, the resort has played host to Surfer Magazine’s annual poll awards, where surf fans from all over the world vote for their favorite surfer. In the past, Kelly Slater has taken top honors more than any other surfer. This year, with world-title showdown in the works and the rise of Brazil’s Gabriel Medina, we could be poised to see changing of the guard. But then again, if there’s one thing that we know about Kelly Slater, it that’ he can never be counted of anything.

On the women’s side, Kauai’s own Alana Blanchard will be defending her Surfer Poll title as well. While seating is relegated to an invite-only list, you can always crack open a cold drink with some friends and catch all of the live action at

The event starts at 7pm on Dec. 6 Hawaii time.

If you missed last year’s event, you can see the whole awards show by clicking here.

In addition to a reader’s poll, the awards also delve out hardware in other categories, including:

Best Barrel
» Kelly Slater, Pipeline, from “The Barrel”
» Dean Morrison, The Right, from “Big Wave Hellmen”
» Koa Smith, Skeleton Bay, from “Diamond Of The Desert”
» Gabriel Villaran, Puerto Escondido, from Dos Dias
» Matahi Drollet, Teahupoo, from Tahiti

Best Maneuver
» John John Florence “Attractive Distractions”
» Josh Kerr, “Kerrzy”
» Kelly Slater, “Tour Notes”
» Albee Layer, “Attractive Distractions”
» Matt Meola, “Attractive Distractions”

Heavy Water (Big Wave Surfer)
» Shane Dorian
» Albee Layer
» Mark Mathews
» Greg Long
» Grant “Twiggy” Baker

Best Performance
» Dane Reynolds, “Loaded”
» Albee Layer, “Attractive Distractions”
» Jamie O’Brien, “Live from the Moon”
» Josh Kerr, “Kerrzy”
» Matt Meola, “Attractive Distractions”
» Creed McTaggart, “Strange Rumblings in Shangri La”

Best Short
» “Swamp Duck”
» “Cheese II”
» “Whatever Happened”
» “Slaber Nackle”
» “Enjoy”

Best Documentary
» “Stephanie In The Water,” directed by Ava Warbrick
» “Bella Vita,” directed by Jason Baffa
» “Thundercloud,” directed by Talon Clemlow
» “Big Wave Hellmen,” Paul Taublieb
» “Beyond the Surface,” Crystal Thornburg-Homcy & Dave Homcy Movie of the Year
» “Loaded,” directed by Dane Reynolds
» “Get-N Classic Vol. 3,” directed by Graham Nash & Reagan Ritchie
» “Strange Rumblings in Shangri La,” directed by Joe G.
» “Attractive Distractions,” directed by Dan Norkunas & Albee Layer
» “I Had Too Much To Dream Last Night,” directed by Dustin Humphrey

Worst Wipeout
» Jamie Mitchell, Belharra (France), from “Big Wave Hellmen”
» Julian Wilson, Pipeline (Hawaii), from “Winter in Hawaii”
» Shane Dorian, Jaws (Hawaii), from “Big Wave Hellmen”
» Brad Norris, The Right (Australia), from “Big Wave Hellmen”
» Billy Kemper, Puerto Escondido (Oaxaca, Mexico), from “Big Wave Hellmen”
» Shawn Dollar, Mavericks (California), “Big Wave Hellmen”
» Niccolo Porcella, Jaws, from “Attractive Distractions”
» Dege O’Connell, Jaws, from “Attractive Distractions”
» Kaito Ohashi, Pipeline, from “Black Friday”
» Myron Porter, The Right, from “Big Wave Hellmen”

To follow all of the backstage info, check out the #surferpoll hashtag on your favorite media channels and follow Turtle Bay Resort on instagram & twitter @TurtleBayResort.